the 12 most famous gemstones of the Bible.

the 12 most famous gemstones of the Bible.

Gemstones not only represent the elect of God, but they serve to remind us of the basic teachings of the Bible. We find those stones as part of the Breastplate of Judgment

And thou shalt set in it settings of stones, even four rows of stones :
the first row shall be a sardius, a topaz, and a carbuncle: this shall be the first row.
And the second row shall be an emerald, a sapphire, and a diamond.
And the third row a ligure, an agate, and an amethyst.
And the fourth row a beryl, and an onyx, and a jasper;
they shall be set in gold in their enclosings.


Ruby was known as Sardius. The glowing hue of the ruby suggested the idea that an inextinguishable flame burned in this stone. Christ’s command the ruby was placed on Aaron’s neck, “the ruby, called the lord of gems ; the highly prized, the dearly loved ruby, so fair with its gay color.”
Ruby opens your heart past the boundaries of personal love and passion to unconditional love. It brings you into alignment with Divine will. It brings freedom, flow and peace for those with a fear of intimacy, repressed emotions and uncertainty in romance.


The Topaz was the second gemstone in the Breastplate. The finest oriental gems remind one of the sun. Topaz is joyous, giving and serene. It is a stone of true love and success in all endeavors! It can promote individuality and creativity while providing for confidence in trusting your  decisions. It acts to replace negativity with joy and joyfulness. Blue Topaz opens you up to cosmic understanding, helping you to transcend limitations.

Carbuncle – red Garnet

The third stone of the Breastplate was the Carbuncle today knowned as red Garnet. The carbuncle was recommended as a heart stimulant, the blood-red hue of the stone also suggested its use as a symbol of the divine sacrifice of Christ on the cross.


The fourth stone of the Breastplate was the Emerald. The emerald was believed to foreshow future events, a revealer of truth, this stone was an enemy of all enchantments and conjurations.


The Sapphire, with its beautiful sky blue colour, was the fifth stone of the Breastplate. This precious stone preserved the wearer from envy and attracted divine favor. The sacred character of the stone was attested by the tradition that the Law given to Moses on the Mount was engraved on tablets of sapphire.


Diamond was the sixth precious stone of the Breastplate. Diamond reflects your will and power aspects of the Divine, and it’s a powerful healer when used by someone whose vibrations are resonating at its intensity. It is a catalyst for alignment with your higher self and it strengthens your will power and control over your physical desires.


The seventh gemstone was the Ligure, which is known as Lapis-lazuli. Lapis Lazuli brings you peace. It assists with opening your Heart, bringing you peace of mind,  opening you to the wisdom and self-responsibility needed for this to take place. It enhances psychic abilities and communication with your Higher Self and your Guides.
It’s an excellent stone for inspiring creative expression.


The eighth stone was the Agate a much favored gemstone as a protector against the spell of the Evil Eye. Agates are related to Chalcedony, they are powerfully grounded, earthy healers and assist greatly in physical and spiritual growth. Their layers help you to unlock new levels of awareness in meditation, as well as strengthen your physical body.


The nith gemstone was the Amethyst used by those involved with lawsuits to ensure that right is done. It is also utilized in prosperity magic and has long been thought to bring success to businesses, perhaps because of its Jupiterian rulership.


Beryl brings calm and stillness to your mind and energy, and assists in a deep meditative space for expanding and merging with your light body. It assists you in opening up to Universal consciousness and builds your understanding of other dimensions


Tenth gemstone Onyx is a protective stone worn when facing adversaries in battles or conflicts of all kinds. The onyx, if worn on the neck, was said to cool the ardors of love. Onyx is used for protection as well as defense against negativity consciously directed toward you. While such things as ‘psychic attack’ or ‘hexing’ are rare and often exist only in the mind ofthe ‘victim’, performing defensive rituals can be psychologically cleansing.


Jasper was the eleventh and last gemstone of the Breastplate. Jasper was credited with the virtue of driving away evil spirits and protecting those who wore it from the bites of venomous creatures. This gemstone is considered an emotionally calming stone, and can be an excellent stone for those who are hypersensitive.

chakras pervers narcissique